The Glorious Rest Day

The past couple of days have been draining to say the least. I’ve never been very good at rest days, I always feel too inactive and end up working my body (specifically my legs) too much.

Tuesday

I had a later shift on Tuesday, rather than my normal 9 am start, so I had a long time before work. Instead of running before hand, I made the mistake of being lazy. It was raining a lot, so I decided that either way it would be a treadmill run.

In the morning I had eggs with a bit of leftover sweet potatoes, turkey sausage, and a piece of toast with grape spread.
IMG_9919

After sitting around and relaxing for a long time, I had to eat lunch and then head to work. I made a quick turkey sandwich with muenster cheese and had Crazy Hot Pop Chips and a clementine on the side. Promptly after I grabbed my granola bar and left for work.

The first half went by quickly, but the second half dragged on. It seems to get that way often, probably because I finish all the work I’m given too quickly and then just have to complete tedious random tasks until it is time to go. That’s what I get for being a great worker I guess!

I got home and didn’t waste much time eating half a banana and getting the treadmill out while Tony ran to the store to fill our water jugs. I started one of the preset “Intensity Workouts” on my treadmill, and added speed every interval since running 5.3 mph during rests was just too slow for me. I was sweating, and the pain I had in my inner thigh all day got worse, AND I had a headache from being hungry, so I ended up walking a couple of times for a minute or less. I still finished my 30 minute 3.1 mile run, and then showered as quickly as I could.

It didn’t take long for me to be ready for dinner, so I got the leftovers out. After dinner we relaxed and I ended up having frozen yogurt in a cake cone, then later a bowl of fruit.

Wednesday

Back to the morning shift! I woke up, had some delicious coffee, and made a bowl of oatmeal with protein powder, blueberries, and almonds. I got ready for work, and forgot a snack, so I ended up grabbing a Nutri-Grain bar from the vending machine.

When I got home from work I was already hungry, so I grabbed 3 multi-grain club crackers and added a bit of almond butter to them before my run. I got ready, and headed out before the rain hit. I did 4 miles on an older route of mine, and kept up a good pace and didn’t stop to walk once, despite the pain in my leg still being there.
IMG_9923

When I got home I showered quickly, and then made lunch. I made an egg and egg white with spinach and green pepper, then spread a Laughing Cow on it with some sriracha, then had a light english muffin with grape spread on the side. This was a weird randomly thrown together lunch, but it has to be one of the best I’ve had in a while!
IMG_9928

Once I finished lunch I sat around a bit until it was time to wake Tony up. His mom stopped by to grab some dishes she left over the holidays, and before going shopping, I had an apple with PB2 yogurt.

When I got home I put away groceries, then did the dishes and cleaned up. By then it was time to start making dinner. I made chicken tacos with a Frontera Skillet Sauce. I went with the “New Mexico” flavor, since the best tacos we ever had were in New Mexico! They were tasty, and on the side we had some beans and rice.
IMG_9930

I didn’t hesitate to grab an ice cream cone with slow churned rocky road! Tony napped while I read, and then when he woke up I may or may not have had a couple of Oreo Thins…

I finished the night off with a cup of Sleepytime Vanilla tea, then headed to bed.

Thursday

Happy Friday! I definitely miss the money of my old job, but I LOVE the hours of this one. I woke up excited for the day. It was my Friday, my rest day from running, and a beautiful sunny day!

I made 2 Eggo Nutri-Grain Low Fat waffles and topped them with Justin’s maple almond butter and some strawberries. I drank my coffee while reading up on some race fueling advice, just so I know ahead of time what I’ll be needing to do later this year!

After a long while of coffee and internet, I decided to get moving and do a yoga video for runners. Afterwards I did some house work and then made lunch. Yesterday, Tony’s mom brought us soup when she came to pick things up, so I had that with a half grilled cheese with egg. I might be eating a full version of that sandwich everyday for either breakfast or lunch over the next week. It was perfect. The soup was great too!

I left for work bringing a Nutty for ‘Nana Chobani Flip and a banana with me. I FINALLY got a library card, so I stayed after work for a bit to check out some books. I’ve never been able to have a library card because I live in a village which doesn’t pay the taxes for the city library, so I would have to pay yearly if I did. I felt like a 6 year old getting their first card!

When I got home I cleaned a few things up and then woke Tony up for the night. Soon after I was heating leftovers and cooking eggs so he could have a big breakfast.

After eating dinner I still only had 5,000 steps. I really don’t understand how to get to my goal and not feel like I burned half the calories I normally do on my rest days. I didn’t want to do any heavy cardio, so at work I made sure I walked every chance I got, going out of the way half the time just to get some extra steps in. I ended up pulling the treadmill out and walking for about an hour, reaching 3 miles and finally, my step goal. I rewarded myself with the ice cream and Oreo Thins!
IMG_9939

Weigh in tomorrow. I’m really not taking my weight as seriously as I was last year. I mostly just want to feel and look (and feel like I look) healthier. I look at it as another way to see progress, and although I haven’t seen much in that area, I definitely see in my running, and my appearance. Now to keep going.

 

Leave a Reply

