Races, concerts, and of course: Food and Beer.

Hello, strangers!

It’s been a long time, somewhere around a month. I have been enjoying everything, running my butt off, eating and drinking it back on, and not feeling badly for it. I have a few larger “events” that I will recap on, but first, here is a ton of the food I ate:

Definitely a trend of french toast, pizza, and beer. I guess that goes to show my love for carbs.

So since I’ve been gone, I’ve been tracking on both Weight Watchers and MyFitnessPal. On weekends, or any days that I don’t really limit myself, I stuck to just MyFitnessPal, that way I could see my final weekly deficit. I had a couple of bad weeks where I ate more than I burned total, but last week I managed to break almost even, burning just a bit more.

I think I am pretty much done with Weight Watchers at this point. Days with my long runs, I need more food than what that has to offer, and the limits on sugar seems to cause me to plunge into binges of sweets way too often. I am back to my goal of eating healthily, and keeping an eye on my deficit to not only make sure I don’t eat to much, but to make sure I eat enough. I have been still using the Weight Watchers tracker to assure that at least I am eating light for most of the day.

So now for some recaps:

Tony’s 50k

First on the list is The Paleozoic Trail Runs 50k. Tony participated as a “practice race” for his 50 mile race next month. Our day started with donuts. Lots of donuts. He finished 23rd out of 65 participants, finishing in just 5:39:29!

Underoath Rebirth Tour

Second up is small. One of our all time favorite bands, who are no longer together, created a “Rebirth Tour” where they played their 2 BEST (in most peoples opinions) albums fully through, back to back. It was beautiful, absolutely beautiful.

Rockdale Ramblin’ Run 10k

My first race of 6 this year! This is one of the couple that I have been most nervous for. 10k is a fairly new distance for me, although now I count it as a shorter day when I do run it. I grew up in Rockdale, and have been training on the hills all year! This race first of Joliet Park District’s “run3”, which we will be completing this year.

I started the day off with 2 pieces of toast with almond butter and part of a banana. We walked down to the school, and got ready to go! Starting of is the hill I fight with everytime I train in my neighborhood. I finally conquered it and smashed my PR of the segment by 1 second!

I finished 208th in 58:51, and Tony in 39th in 46:48 out of 510 participants. He got first place in his age group (Male 20-24) and I got second in mine (Female 20-24). Had my birthday been a week earlier, I would’ve been TOAST. Not many pictures have been posted online yet, but so far mine is awful, just like every race, all the time.

So that has been my life in a nutshell for the past month or so. Stay tuned for more shenanigans after this weekend! Lots of fun coming up, not to mention all summer!

One thought on “Races, concerts, and of course: Food and Beer.

Leave a Reply

